like how to say goodbye


There are things I want to know.

Like, what’s it like to be loved for who I am
and not who you thought I would be…
or could be or should be or am going to become
and not for what I bring
that one thing you find lacking in yourself
Maguire was wrong baby, I ain’t gonna complete you.

Like, why do I listen to the echo of your voice
telling me how much more painful this really was for you
from where I’m standing it looks like only one of us made a change
and what lie am I believing
that keeps me coming back for more
A different face, name, disguise – you all end up the same.

There are things that I believe.
Now.

Like, it’s all really going to be okay
even if it ends up me alone
and, I’m really worth more than the price
you laid on my head.

Like, you didn’t give me much to live up to
and I’ve blown your expectations sky high
and someday
one day

I’ll stop caring to wonder if you’re still out there watching.
Until then…

…are you?

(originally written 7/1/09)

2 thoughts on “like how to say goodbye

  1. Catherine

    This is so beautiful! I really like this one. I can definitely identify with this piece, it’s almost like you wrote it about my last relationship :). I particularly liked:

    Like, what’s it like to be loved for who I am
    and not who you thought I would be…
    or could be or should be or am going to become

    Reply

Leave a Reply

